Untitled Document

Speakers & Panellists

These are some of the experts who have agreed to speak at the Colloquium
(in order of the programme)

Dr Kofi Mbiah
Chair of the Legal Committee of the International Maritime Organisation and Chief Executive of the Ghana Shippers’ Authority.
Dr Iur Bülent Sözer
Past-President of the Turkish Maritime Law Association and Chair of the Colloquium Organising Committee.
Prof Dr Samim Ünan
President of the Turkish Maritime Law Association, Professor of Law at Istanbul University teaching transport and insurance law.
Bent Nielsen
Titulary Member of the CMI, Chair of the CMI International Working Group on General Average, Retired partner of Kromann Reumert, Copenhagen.
Taco van der Valk
Titulary Member of the CMI. Rapporteur of the CMI International Working Group on General Average. President of the Maritime & Transport Law Association of the Netherlands. Practising Advocaat with AKD Lawyers in Rotterdam.  Honorary deputy judge in the Court of Appeal.
Co-Rapporteur of the CMI International Working Group on General Average.
Richard Cornah
Fellow of the Association of Average Adjusters and past Chair of the Association.  Chairman of Richards Hogg Lindley, and a co-editor of the 13th edition of Lowndes & Rudolf on General Average and the York Antwerp Rules.  Co-Rapporteur of the CMI International Working Group on General Average.
Michael Harvey
Co-founder of average adjusters Harvey Ashby and Fellow and past Chair of the Association of Average Adjusters. President of the International Association of Average Adjusters.  Co-author of The York-Antwerp Rules: The Principles and Practice of General Average Adjustment. Member of the CMI International Working Group on General Average.
Jonathan S. Spencer
Oxford graduate and now US Average Adjuster founder of The Spencer Company in New York.  Member of the CMI International Working Group on General Average.  Frequent speaker on General Average at international seminars and conferences.
Prof Dr Didem Light
Professor in Maritime and Insurance Law at the Istanbul Commerce University Faculty of Law.
Prof Dr Martin Davies
Admiralty Law Institute Professor of Maritime Law and Director, Maritime Law Center, Tulane University.
Patrick Griggs CBE
Past senior partner of Ince & Co,Past-President and President Honoris Causa of the CMI.
Dr Iur Damos Dumoli Agusman
Deputy Director General of Treaties and Legal Affairs,Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Indonesia
Shailendra Mudgal
Shailendra Mudgal, founding director of a new consulting firm Middlepath Limited, is an environmental engineer/economist with more than twenty years of experience in management consulting. He has conducted numerous policy assessments and economic analysis of energy and environment policies. He was co-author of the UNEP Green Economy Report and has also contributed to four global megatrends assessment for the 2015 State of the Environment Report published by the European Environment Agency. He was also the lead author of several publications on civil/environmental liability, the most recent being the 2014 report for the European Union, “Civil liability, financial security and compensation claims for offshore oil and gas activities in the European Economic Area”.
Prof Dr Barış Soyer
Director of the Institute of Shipping & Trade Law at the School of Law, Swansea University.
Fabien Lerede
Offshore Syndicate Claims Director at the Standard Club, responsible for handling offshore members’ P&I claims and reviewing their contracts. One of the members of the Sub-committee which developed the new Windtime form of Charterparty for BIMCO and has been a regular speaker for various training courses organised by the same organisation. Recent contributor to ‘Offshore Contracts and Liabilities’ (Informa Law)
Prof Dr Erik Røsæg
Professor of Law at the Scandinavian Institute of Maritime Law, University of Oslo.  Member of the CMI International Working Group on Offshore Activities.
Mette K Gravdahl Agerup
Assistant Director General, Norwegian Ministry of Oil & Energy.
Prof Dr Sezer Ilgın
Past-President of the Turkish MLA.  Vice Dean of ITUMF, Maritime Faculty of İstanbul.
Dr Oya Özçayır
Associate Professor of Maritime Law. Honorary Fellow at the University of Exeter, maritime law consultant (lawofthesea.co.uk) and member of İzmir Law Bar in Turkey.  Author of ‘Liability for Oil Pollution and Collisions’ (LLP) and ‘Port State Control’ (LLP). “
Prof Dr Dieter Schwampe
Joint President of the German Maritime Law Association, and member of the CMI EXCO and IWG on Marine Insurance.  Practitioner at the Hamburg bar, lecturer and author.
Dr Özlem Gürses
Associate Professor at the University of Southampton.  Graduate of Instanbul University and Southampton and member of the Presidential Council (UK representative) of the International Association of Insurance Law (AIDA).
Prof Hakan Karan
Ankara University Faculty of Law.
Prof Dr Michael Sturley
Fannie Coplin Regents Chair in Law at the University of Texas at Austin.  Rapporteur of the CMI International Working Group on the Rotterdam Rules, and prolific author (including a co-author of Admiralty and Maritime Law in the United States).
Dr Melis Ozdel
Deputy Director, University College London, Centre for Commercial Law.  Member of the Middle Temple, Turkey Bar Association and European Maritime Law Organisation.
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Kübra Yetiş Şamlı
Assist Professor, Istanbul University Faculty of Law, department of Maritime and Insurance Law.
Vannessia Kamesha Stewart
Winner of the 2014 CMI Prize for Best Overall Performance at IMLI.
Jaime Soroa LLM
A graduate of Madrid University and the University of Wales, Swansea.  Erstwhile Solicitor and now with the Shipowners P&I.
Edmund Sweetman LLM
An LLM in Maritime Law graduate of the University of London, and currently practises as a Barrister at Law in the Irish Courts and as an Abogado in Spain.
Z. Bahar Sayhan, LLM
Member of the Turkish Bar, Istanbul. In charge of yCMI arrangements for Istanbul.

Copyright © CMI2015. All Rights Reserved
LookUs & Online Makale